Already Loved

Two to Three, Three to Four, Four to Five, Five to Six.


A friendly reminder to a mom.

Not everyone ‘has it together.’ Not all parents are perfect or do everything right.

I’m sure you’ve seen this floating around internet land or facebook-space, but I really enjoy the reminder.

  1. I shall not judge my house, my kid’s summer activities or my crafting skills by Pinterest’s standards.
  2. I shall not measure what I’ve accomplished today by the loads of unfolded laundry but by the assurance of deep love I’ve tickled into my kids
  3. I shall say “yes” to blanket forts and see past the chaos to the memories we’re building.
  4. I shall surprise my kids with trips to get ice cream when they’re already in their pajamas.
  5. I shall not compare myself to other mothers, but find my identity in the God who trusted me with these kids in the first place.
  6. I shall remember that a messy house at peace is better than an immaculate house tied up in knots.
  7. I shall play music loudly and teach my kids the joy of wildly uncoordinated dance.
  8. I shall remind myself that perfect is simply a street sign at the intersection of impossible and frustration in Never Never land.
  9. I shall embrace the fact that in becoming a mom I traded perfect for a house full of real.
  10. I shall promise to love this body that bore these three children – out loud, especially in front of my daughter.
  11. I shall give my other mother friends the gift of guilt-free friendship.
  12. I shall do my best to admit to my people my “unfine” moments.
  13. I shall say “sorry” when sorry is necessary.
  14. I pray God I shall never be too proud, angry or stubborn to ask for my children’s forgiveness.
  15. I shall make space in my grown up world for goofball moments with my kids.
  16. I shall love their father and make sure they know I love him.
  17. I shall model kind words – to kids and grown-ups alike.
  18. I shall not be intimidated by the inside of my minivan – this season of chip bags, goldfish crackers and discarded socks too shall pass.
  19. I shall always make time to encourage new moms.
  20. I shall not resent that last call for kisses and cups of water but remember instead that when I blink they’ll all be in college.

~ with love from one tired mother to another.

 

Thank for you the encouraging words and friendly reminder.

Credit.  

 

DSC_0124 DSC_0150 DSC_0190

 

I am so thankful for Sam and Daphne. They both bring me so much joy in different ways. I can look into Daphne’s eyes and just want to start crying out of pure love and excitement for being with her. As I type this, my husband is in the bedroom changing Daphne. The monitor is on and I can hear him making goofy noises and joking with Daphne: “Put your other arm in! Oh wait…maybe I should turn on the light. Wait…Wait…TRY AGAIN! YAY! DOODLES! WOO! Woo HOO! Do you need a new diaper? NOPE! You’re still good!” *roars and laughs from daddy followed by giggles from Doodles*.

I hear her mumble and giggle. They hold conversations between themselves. What a wonderful moment to look into from a distance. I’m learning to realize that I shouldn’t strive for perfection. I should really strive to enjoy every moment and make the most of them. Each moment affords me the opportunity to become bitter or better. I want to be better.

 

DSC_0240

2 responses to “A friendly reminder to a mom.”

  1. Great list! This post just makes me smile. I can relate!

  2. Loved this list and definitely a great reminder.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.