Blooming Quilt

I came across a Bloomin’ QAYG (Quilt As You Go) tutorial a few months ago and I knew I wanted to try my hand at sewing something similar! Here is a picture I pulled from the tutorial site from heyletsmakestuff (all credit to her for the photo!)

Bloomin-QAYG-Updated-2-600x1212.jpg

Just wanted to show you what inspired my own creation!

Here’s how it went down!

I chose not to ‘quilt as you go.’ I wanted to create a similar design on a larger scale, so I just went with making a quilt top. I think next time I will give quilting as I go a try.

I acquired lots of fabric (along the lines of 12 yards?) in varying shades of yellow, green, teals, blues, and deep blues. I found a small fabric shop that sold me scraps and bolt ends by weight in the shades I needed, so that was convenient!

I sorted my fabrics into colors and graduated them from one to the next so that it looked as seamless as possible going from yellow to blue. I cut the fabrics into 3 inch strips as long as the fabric scraps would allow. By the end of the quilt top I was sewing two long strips together just to make the fabric fit the length I needed!

I started with a small piece of fabric I cut 5 sides into and just started sewing fabric around it on all edges. Really, it’s simple in theory. My problems didn’t come along until the project got bigger.

Oh naive Jenna! I forgot that working with different fabrics means you must be extra careful with working with the grains and stretching of fabrics. My quilt was coming along nicely until about 3 feet x 3 feet. In utter dismay I realized that even with my meticulous pressing of the fabrics after I sewed each piece, my quilt top was puckering, dimpling, and waving. It did not lay flat which meant it would not quilt flat.

Frustrated, I left it alone for a few days and returned to it to assess the damage. I decided my best result would come from tucking in the fabric and sewing up the tucks. I had toyed with the idea of ripping it a part but then I would have wasted all of those cut scraps!

After tucking and sewing in two long curved seams, my quilt top was ready to be worked again. I added more fabric being careful to make sure it didn’t pucker again. I added until I came to a basic uneven square and trimmed the edges. For now, my quilt top is finished until I can decide how to frame it and quilt it!

 

The quilt top is roughly 5 feet across.

THINGS I WOULD DO DIFFERENT:

-Interface the fabric prior to sewing it together OR quilt as I go.

-Be diligent about sewing the strips in one direction as opposed to skipping around the quilt as I saw fit. I’d sew the strips around the shape so it would be a little less waste.

Leave a Reply

