23 Weeks Stats (Baby 2.0)


How Far Along: 23 weeks.
First pregnancy’s post from within this week!

Baby size and random info: (thanks to Alpha Mom)

Your Baby:

  • Is a tad bigger than last week! Are you sensing a pattern? Goodness, I never realized how boring this stretch of pregnancy is, what with the “close to a pound, just over a pound, 11 inches long, 11 2/3 inches long” comparisons week after week.
  • The pancreas is kicking into gear sometime around this week, and blood vessels continue to develop in the lungs. Lung development is a Big Thing right now, since babies born around 24 weeks gestation can often survive outside the womb.

Symptoms: Swelling has started. Lord help me. I had a really rough night last night because of the swelling in my feet and ankles. I was so upset because with my first pregnancy, I couldn’t really get it under control. It’s still a long 16 weeks until delivery. *sigh*

I’m getting my weight under control by eating whole healthy foods and working out at the gym. I’ve incorporated half an hour of weight lifting into my workout routine in addition to walking for an hour. I seem to feel better.

How I’m feeling: Been a rough week for my emotions. I’ve been feeling space-y and distant. I try not to get discouraged when Daphs and I go out in public—she likes to run around and be independent but I can’t keep up running after her! She’s about 25 pounds and carrying her isn’t in the cards either. I guess I’m just feeling a little low this week. It’ll get better.

Week’s highlights: Went to a wedding. Cleaned house. Saw a movie with friends.

Sam killed another copperhead snake!

Boy or Girl? Girl!

Cravings: No real cravings this week. I’ve been pretty picky about what I eat. Anything with tomatoes gives me crazy heartburn, so I steer clear of pizza and pasta. Been wanting lemonade!

Worries/Concerns: Weight gain. Swelling.

Goals and to what I look forward: Looking forward to Sam coming home this weekend. Also looking forward to getting out and smelling the fall scents at Bath and Body Works and Yankee Candles. The weather has been cooler, so I’m excited to get outside a bit more with Daphne.

Leave a Reply

