Week 14 Stats (Baby 2.0)

How Far Along: 14 weeks.
First pregnancy’s post from within this week!

Baby size and random info: (thanks to Alpha Mom)

Your Baby:

  • Is about the size of your fist, unless you have giant man-hands or something, so maybe I should just compare it to a peach instead.
  • Has a strong, whoosh-whooshy heartbeat that can usually be found pretty easily now with a doppler. It’s much faster than yours (between 120 – 160 bpm), and sounds vaguely like a washing machine.
  • Has probably started sucking its thumb.

Symptoms: This pas week was a Godsend. I only had morning sickness a day or two. I felt decent enough to get out of the house and get active. I was so thankful for the break in the throwing up and nausea. I have a lot of crazy dreams and find myself kind of serious…not in a lighthearted mood like I usually am. Hormones must be playing hockey with my emotions.

How I’m feeling: I get hot most of the time. I feel tired. I feel like I’m already waddling. This pregnancy is kickin’ my booty!

Week’s highlights: Feeling good for the most part. Feeling baby kick every evening! Baby 2.0 kicks in the evening for one or two kicks and then goes back into the dormant state. Sam even tried to hurry to feel baby kick, but it kicked and was gone. The mailman delivered fresh banana bread to us! What a nice trade-off for the figs we let him and his wife pick!

Boy or Girl? Don’t know yet! We still can’t decide if we want to do an elective ultrasound or just wait until September to find out.

Cravings: No real cravings. I enjoy ranch Doritos,  grilled cheese and turkey sandwiches, spicy chicken salads, and toast with cinnamon. I’ve burned myself out on bagels. I eat at least 3 bananas a day.

Worries/Concerns: No major concerns right now. Just hoping this lack of morning sickness is for REAL and stays that way.
-Nausea
-Constipation (not so much a worry with my new nausea meds)
-Swelling. This one makes me anxious more than anything. I have a small fear of blood clots and aneurysms (for no particular reason) and the swelling hurts so darn much.
-Excessive weight gain. Yea…this one bites…but it comes with the territory. With me being as sick as I am, I can’t stay active like I was before (walking at least 4 miles a day, sometimes 8).
-Get support for breastfeeding and look into things like placenta encapsulation and postpartum depression.

Goals and to what I look forward: I’d like to do a few ink drawings and video record them. I’d like to take some updated pictures of Daphs. I would also just LOVE to get the house in order…again…

Leave a Reply

