Week 13 Stats (Baby 2.0)

 


 

Pax had to be in the picture. Isn’t she darling?

How Far Along: 13 weeks.
First pregnancy’s post from within this week!

Baby size and random info: (thanks to Alpha Mom)

Your Baby:

  • Is about three inches long, the size of a jumbo shrimp, or a very small ramekin of tartar sauce.
  • Has his or her own unique fingerprints already.
  • Has intestines on the INSIDE of his or her body. (They start developing outside the body, in the umbilical cord, and then sort of…migrate up to their proper home around 13 weeks. I know. Biology is WEIRD, dude.)
  • Will look less and less like a Big Giant Head and more and more proportionate as the next weeks tick by.

 

Symptoms: Morning sickness is absolutely unpredictable. Some mornings I wake feeling okay, others I wake up hurling.  Boobs are giant and a little tender. I’m not breaking out as bad as I was a few weeks ago. I’m tired.

How I’m feeling: I’m so hot! Usually I sleep with about 6 blankets atop myself while Sam is snug with his 1 blanket. Now I can barely sleep with one blanket. I’m feeling a little deflated emotionally, as I just can’t seem to kick this morning sickness and figure out a routine that manages it. Definitely feeling a little stir crazy and feeling anxious about whether the next 7 months are going to be like this.

Week’s highlights: Daphs comforted me while I puked. Yea…gross…but it was so darling. She grabbed onto my leg and hugged me. She was probably being protective of hurting mama, but she also could have been reassuring me that “Hey mama, I know you’re ralphin’ your brains out right now, but it’s gonna be okay. Hug me when you’re done.”

Boy or Girl? Not sure. If I had to make a guess right now, it’d be boy. I only say that because this pregnancy seems different than my 1st with Daphne. I don’t feel as emotional and polar with my feelings. I am in better control and feel more balanced…if that’s the right way to describe it. Who knows. I hope we find out soon!

Cravings: No cravings. Sometimes I am ravenous for pizza, other times I can’t bear to look at a slice. I have strong smell aversions and often it triggers me. Wait…I have been craving Coke Icee’s. Yep. That’s it.

Worries/Concerns: As usual, just that this pregnancy would continue to be healthy and baby would develop safe and strong.
A few health concerns this time around to watch for and try to prevent/manage:
-Nausea
-Constipation (not so much a worry with my new nausea meds)
-Swelling. This one makes me anxious more than anything. I have a small fear of blood clots and aneurysms (for no particular reason) and the swelling hurts so darn much.
-Excessive weight gain. Yea…this one bites…but it comes with the territory. With me being as sick as I am, I can’t stay active like I was before (walking at least 4 miles a day, sometimes 8).
-Get support for breastfeeding and look into things like placenta encapsulation and postpartum depression.

Goals and to what I look forward: We are slowly getting the house organized and I’ve picked up my art again. I think I’d like to try to bake something this week and alo try to write a few cards and make some “thinking of you” calls.

 

2 thoughts on “Week 13 Stats (Baby 2.0)

Leave a Reply

