Week 12 Stats (Baby 2.0)

 

 

How Far Along: 12 weeks.
First pregnancy’s post from within this week!

 

Baby size and random info: (thanks to Alpha Mom)

Your Baby:

  • Is about two-and-a-half inches long. So still in the lemon/lime range.
  • Already has pretty much every structure, organ and system needed for life by this point. Everything will continue to develop and mature, but your baby really is a perfect little miniature human being.
  • Reproductive organs are distinctly male or female. A 3D ultrasound could possibly make a pretty good guess at the sex now.
  • Can officially be Bugged By You. Reflexes have developed, so if you push on your uterus, your baby will squirm and move in response.

 

Symptoms: All day sickness wasn’t as intense this week as it has been in the past. Was overcome a few days ago with just a sort of depressive heavy heart. I don’t know why. Maybe all of this sickness and being unable to stay active has finally gotten to me. Tired. I can tell my tummy is getting fuller.

How I’m feeling: Tired and hot all the time. I feel like I want to be active and go do things but I’m not a huge fan of throwing up in public, so I don’t get out much. Feeling a little stir crazy. Still sick and nauseated.

Week’s highlights: Sam has been so helpful and thoughtful. He takes great care of me and gets me what I need, whether a tea from Sonic or bottled water from the store. I really appreciate it. We got to hear little one’s heartbeat today at the appointment, so that was nice.

Boy or Girl? No idea!

Cravings: I’m beginning to think dairy is giving me a sour stomach. I don’t know. I’ll need to check it out. No cravings for anything.

Worries/Concerns: As usual, just that this pregnancy would continue to be healthy and baby would develop safe and strong.
A few health concerns this time around to watch for and try to prevent/manage:
Nausea
Constipation (not so much a worry with my new nausea meds)
Swelling
Excessive weight gain
Get support for breastfeeding and look into things like placenta encapsulation and postpartum depression.

Goals and to what I look forward: I’d like to be able to get to the gym and walk. I am also hoping to pick up my art again when I feel a bit better. Getting the house organized would be nice as well.

 

Leave a Reply

