1 Year, 25 Weeks Old

 
Age:
1 years 5 months 24 days
or 17 months 24 days
or 77 weeks 0 days
or 539 days
or 12936 hours
or 776160 minutes
or 46569600 seconds

Changes in appearance: She is plumping out and leaning out all at the same time! Her hair is getting so long, it covers her eyes most of the time. She looks more grown up.

Likes: She likes her stuffed animals and dolls. She usually walks around the house holding them or stacking them in piles. She likes music and will rock back and forth and turn circles when she hears it. She likes books still and loves to be chased by Pax. She likes swimming and feeling the rain. She still loves bath time. Loves to be tickled.

Dislikes: Not much. I can’t even think of anything. Oh wait…she doesn’t like non-ripe strawberries.

New Milestones/Developments: My sweet Daphne…she is leaping and bounding into becoming a little girl. She is so very vocal and strings together words and phrases, but I can’t decipher them. She runs more. She climbs onto chairs, tables, foot stools, and anything relatively low to the ground.

What we’re currently “working on:” Working on potty training. Working on pronouncing words and letters. Working on manners in general.

Favorite Toys: Books. Her farm animal puzzle set. The cup during bath time. A bouncy ball to kick around and the stability ball I have to bounce on as well.

To Share of not to Share: She shares very well still. I work a lot with her about giving and receiving. I also make it a point to gently ask for toys and items and not just pry them out of her hand. She’s more apt to give them up rather than getting possessive and angry.

Tooth Count: Lordy. I believe there’s still only 6 on top and 6 on the bottom! Though, the way she’s acting lately I wouldn’t be surprised if there are more.

Left-handed or Right-handed: We work with both hands. She doesn’t have a dominance right now.

Eating Habits: Nibbles on snacks throughout the day. Eats meals with meat, dairy, veggies, and grains (at least 2 or more per meal). Drinks water throughout the day and has milk before naps and bedtime.

How I’m feeling: Feeling thankful. I really am thankful for her smiles and her laughter. When she laughs, I have to laugh. I’m feeling pretty good–I completed a few projects around the house on which I’ve been procrastinating. Always feels good to get those done.

I used to be very active in church. After years of not attending church, I’ve become rusty.  I’ve found a renewed sense of responsibility to myself to seek answers and to be thankful to God who provides. I am reminded of God’s love, his perfect timing even though I may not understand, and for giving me multiple things for which to be thankful every single day.

What I want to do next: I want to work in the garden a bit this weekend. It’s been rainy today and I’ve been feeling tired lately. Daphs really takes it out of me. That, and I stay up late reading, researching, and relaxing.

What I learned this week: It’s okay to lean on friends and family for help and advice. Don’t underestimate the power of small toys and trinkets to occupy and pass time while in line at the grocery (i.e. using my key that flips open and shut rather than using the ipad or phone). I learned that I don’t like the Jazz or Blues station on the Music On Demand channel, but I totally dig the Swing station. It’s a lot of music from mid century and before. I dig.  I also found a shampoo and conditioner that doesn’t make my brittle blue hair feel like straw. +1!

People who inspired me this week and showed me kindness: C for the smile and encouraging support. S for the laughter and love. L for the shared love. M for the kindness. A for remembering me. D for always remembering. N for sharing time and a hobby. P for cuddling up with me in bed so I won’t feel lonely. A for at least attempting to show love. The magnolia tree for producing lovely blossoms for me to keep inside my home. The two scraggly deer at the end of the lawn who remind me that nature and God provides. God for the perfect timing.

Leave a Reply

