1 Year, 21 weeks old

Age:
1 years 4 months 26 days
or 16 months 26 days
or 72 weeks 6 days
or 510 days
or 12240 hours
or 734400 minutes
or 44064000 seconds

Changes in appearance: She just looks older. Her hair is so long and constantly getting in her eyes. This leads to more pony tails! Hair still light. She’s growing taller and leaner. Stronger!

Likes: Books! Splashing in the tub. Helping me water my garden. Playing with puppies. Going through her flash cards.

Dislikes: Eh…nothing major. She isn’t a huge fan of flash photography.

New Milestones/Developments: She talks so much now. We hold conversations, though I can’t understand all of what she says. She’s getting better about identifying things, like daddy and puppies. She mimics sounds back and does some hand movements when we work with flash cards. I’ll ask if she has to go potty and she’ll walk to the bathroom. I ask if she’d like to take a nap, and she’ll walk to the bedroom. I’ll ask if she wants milk and she’ll walk to the kitchen. I know a lot of it is habit and mimicking but I sure do love how grown up she’s getting! Bittersweet.

What we’re currently “working on:” Potty. Working on expanding our vocabulary and sounds. Working on Please and Thank you.

Favorite Toys: She especially likes shoes. She’ll take them all over the house! Still loves chasing the dogs.

To Share of not to Share: She’s getting better about sharing more frequently. She does well with other kids that I’ve seen.

Tooth Count: 6 on top, 6 on bottom.

Left-handed or Right-handed: She uses both pretty equally.

Eating Habits: She likes crunchy foods, like animal crackers and cheerios. Still enjoying sweet potatoes, chicken, some dairy, and veggies often.

How I’m feeling: Feelin’ okay. Enjoying every precious moment with Sam. Feeling pretty good since I’ve picked up jogging again. My garden needs weeding, but it’s on the backburner with other projects I have going on.

What I want to do next: I need to finalize my soap and lotion recipes. I also want to do a little baking. I have a quilt to work on and would like to get my house organized *still*.

What I learned this week: I think it’s important to remember that you need to do what you feel is best. Even if others don’t follow suit or reciprocate, it is your responsibility to do what you feel is right and best. I’m not saying to kick other people’s opinions to the curb, but that you can’t sacrifice what you feel is right just because no one else is doing it.

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the past year and a half. I feel like I’ve learned to just let things be. Just let people be. I admit to being a hard critic on myself and on others, but I am realizing that being gentle, loving, and kind is a better way to go about life. Having a child has really changed my perspective on life and love.

People who inspired me this week and showed me kindness: J and L for the thoughtfulness. S for everything. M for the laughs. L for the shared experience. Everyone who talked to Daphne.

Leave a Reply

