1 Year, 1 week old.

Age:
1 years 0 months 7 days
or 12 months 7 days
or 53 weeks 1 days
or 372 days
or 8928 hours
or 535680 minutes
or 32140800 seconds

Changes in appearance: I must be going crazy, but it seems like her hair is getting even more light and more red. Then again, her hair is also thickening up and growing longer. The hair right above her spine is a couple of inches long. *eeeek* My daughter is growing up. Eyes of blue. Full miniature lips. She seems to be losing a little bit of her baby fat and evening out. Still has those darling puffy squishable squeezable cheeks. 

Likes: Loves bathtime, puppies, and books. She also has taken a liking to balls, blocks, and other people. She’ll warm up to strangers in an instant. Some she even leans in towards to be held.

Dislikes: Not many things really bother her nowadays. When she’s tired she’ll get a little squirmy and fussy but nothing too crazy.

New Milestones/Developments: Blows kisses. Waves. Initiates the movements to “Wheel on the bus” all by herself. Dances. Has found her tongue and uses it constantly in speech.

What we’re currently “working on:” Walking. Reading. Being vocal and saying what she wants (up, more, please, thank you, bath, potty).

Favorite Toys: Blocks. Books. Balls, Her moving lady bug toy. Her Creeper plush. Her socks.

To Share of not to Share: She is very willing to share and offers toys, food, and anything she is holding to me.

Tooth Count: 3 out. A couple on the way.

Left-handed or Right-handed:  Left dominant but uses her right frequently.

Eating Habits:  She is down to about 6oz total of formula per day. The rest is whole milk. She eats 3-4 times throughout the day, including meals of chicken, veggies, fruit, and grains. She loves bananas and chicken.

How I’m feeling: Like I just finished a marathon. Emotionally, I was drained from thinking about Daphne growing up and turning one. Preparing her party was not a huge production as I told myself that I would not overthink the whole thing. It was simple and perfect. I mourned the loss of her first year but rejoiced in gaining more. I’m not as physically tired as I used to be. I’m in the routine of waking with her and getting chores/reading/hobbies done while she naps or is in bed. I’m feeling like I can always be doing more with her.

What I want to do next: I would like to introduce Daphne to painting and drawing. I need to go get ingredients for foodsafe paints and get her started on that. I also want to start incorporating piano time daily. Right now, it’s more of a every now and again we’ll play together, but I want her to get used to hearing me play and maybe even playing with me (if she continues to show interest). I also want to take her out walking/jogging with me more. I’d like to get her used to being outside. I could be happy playing inside all day, so it’ll be a challenge to consistently get her out and about. In the next week or so, I want to shoot some Christmas pictures and get cards sent out.

What I learned this week: How to let go. How to let go of negative thinking and relationships that have been bugging me for a while. Being the people pleaser I am, I have a hard time knowing that someone doesn’t like me or that someone has an issue with me. As far as it has been in my power, I’ve done what I could to right the situation but it hasn’t always been successful or even fruitful. I’m learning to just let go. Just let go. It’s hard. It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be, but it is also more freeing than I imagined.

People who inspired me this week and showed me kindness: Sam for cleaning house, playing with Daphne, and getting up every morning to feed and change Daphne so I can sleep in an extra hour. I love you for all your hard work, honey. M for making me laugh even when I didn’t want to. L for following up on my movie going adventure. L for texting and calling and keeping me social. K for putting herself out on a box for the world to see. Clerks at jewelry store for admiring Daphne so much and oogling over her cheeks and eyes. J for remembering me on Pinterest, thinking of me enough to send me pins. D for watching Daphne so Sam and I could have a night out. CBP for showing such poise and strength amidst challenges. S for reminding me that it’s okay to laugh and be myself. Also for the great squirrel squatting story. I’ll miss you! B for reminding me that I am strong and valued. Also for sharing random texting shenanigans and goofy pictures. D for reminding me why I’m glad we are facing a Charleston winter, not a Colorado Springs winter. N for opening up herself and showing such strength. My phoenix friend. Downton for giving me a chuckle. Oh Maggie, you are a doll. A for showing me such kindness even though you don’t have to. K for being a part of our special day.

 

Leave a Reply

