42 Weeks Old – “Pee-ya Pee-ya” and Exploring

Age:
0 years 9 months 22 days
or 9 months 22 days
or 42 weeks 0 days
or 294 days
or 7056 hours
or 423360 minutes
or 25401600 seconds

Changes in appearance:

Her hair continues to get thicker and lay down over itself. No more fluffy puffy hair here. She is gaining weight and has the most darling figure: chubby thighs, stubby legs, dimples on her knuckles, and cheeks that puff out like a chipmunk. Blue eyes. Reddish brownish blond hair. A smile that lights up a room and a giggle that is contagious.

Likes:

The dogs playing. Bathtime. Her ducky. Books.  Being thrown up in the air. Tickles. Exploring under the desk and around the room.

Dislikes:

I’ve noted that she’s been a bit squirmy when I feed her foods from a spoon. I give her foods for her to pick up on her own to eat and she has no issues paying attention during feedings. I’ll take it as a sign that she’s transitioning out of being spoon-fed and into the territory of shoving everything into her mouth herself.

New Milestones/Developments:

She is not walking or standing fully on her own, she still holds onto things and people. She started saying a new phrase yesterday… “Pee-ya”. I’m wondering if it has anything to do with our constant reference to the puppy dogs. She tries to say puppy by muttering ‘puhh’. Either way, it’s awesome to see her putting sounds together. She picks up small pieces of food (peas) with her forefingers and still favors her left hand. She screeches like a pterodactyl and loves to giggle. She’s so fast with her crawling. I imagine I know what to expect from her when she starts walking! She was able to point out a kitty cat without my help and from a distance yesterday. I asked ‘Where’s the kitty cat?” and she pointed down to her book at the cat on the page. There were other animals on the page, but she chose the cat. Smarty.

What we’re currently “working on:”

More reading and sounds. Identifying fruits and other animals. What sounds animals make. Colors.

Favorite Toys:

Books. Her ducky. The ball. The singing turtle toy.

Eating Habits:

Formula through the day. Carrots, peas, green beans, or squash. bananas and apples. I gave her a piece of string cheese for the first time yesterday. She enjoys sharing my chicken, peas, and rice with me.

Thoughts about the past week:

This past week has been stressful. Sam has been staying at work later because of his weapons training. By the time he gets home, Daphne is in bed. We only get an hour of time together a day before he is too exhausted and retires to bed. I can definitely tell a difference in our routine. I’m not used to so little time with Sam and the long hours alone.

I’m afraid that I am learning that growing up is not glamorous. A hard business, it is. Knowing how to let some people go and cling closer to others is more tough than it used to be. Ignoring negativity is no longer an option. Weeding out bad influences in my life is taking time and it is taking energy from me. I hope to be on the uphill soon. I am not perfect, but I am realizing there are people and things in my life that cause me more heartache and stress than warranted. I’m becoming better. I’m getting better. I want to be my best for Daphne and set a good example.

Daphne is such a little woman. I just cannot believe she will be 10 months old soon. Holy cow!

We had a rough night a few days ago due to her second tooth. It must have been breaking through her gum. She was up for an hour bawling and sniffling like nothing else. She’s since been better and the tooth is shining through.

I hold Doodles close to me each time I hug her. She won’t be this little for much longer. She’ll become independent and want to explore the world rather than chill in my arms.

My heart often visits memories of my miscarriage. I mourn the future that could have been but remain hopeful. I’m still sad about it. I don’t know what happened. I put Daphne to bed each night and love her so dearly. I pray that God will bless us with another little one. I do not feel like my family is ‘complete’ yet, that there are more children to be had if God wills it.

As I replay events in my life leading up to my miscarriage, I see how stressed I was. Forty pounds overweight (30 from previous pregnancy), energy sapped from a toxic relationship, stress and fretting about friendships that are not reciprocated, and general depression all consumed me. I was not in a good place. I think that the timing was not right for the pregnancy. Believe me, we were thrilled, ecstatic, and so joyed to learn of the second pregnancy.  It just wasn’t time.

Been thinking a lot about teaching methods and how to talk to Daphne about faith and safety. I suppose a round of research is in order.

All in all, things are going well. Doodles makes me laugh and warms my heart. She keeps me young and curious. I love growing with her.

Leave a Reply

