30 Weeks Old (7 months!)


Age:
0 years 6 months 29 days
or 6 months 29 days
or 29 weeks 6 days
or 209 days
or 5016 hours
or 300960 minutes
or 18057600 seconds

Changes in appearance:

I look through her pictures and notice her features becoming defined. Her eyes are still sparkly and are lit up. She’s got wide open eyes to absorb everything around her. Her hair is a light shade of reddish/blond. She’s not lean like she used to be, rather, she is packing on the weight.

Likes:

Loves looking into camera-phones. She still gets a kick out of watching Pax and Ash play together on the floor. She likes bathtime and swimming in the tub. She loves to be held and around people.

Dislikes:

She doesn’t like the wind. She doesn’t like being away from people (If I walk away from her for more than 3 steps, she’ll wail. Working on it).

New Milestones/Developments

She’s taken a liking to being more vocal. She’ll moan and make coughing sounds a lot more. She gets a kick out of words like “buzz”, “zoom”, and “spoon”. She’s eating out of her high chair now and LOVES puffs. I’ve bought some strawberry banana flavored ones in addition to the ‘greens’ puffs. At first, she was a bit confused about them but quickly started gumming them to their yummy death.

What we’re currently “working on:”

Working on her picking things up more. Also working on associating words with actions and people. I often show her pictures of family and tell her about them. I make sure to describe food before I give it to her and while I’m doing it.

Sleeping Habits:

Bedtime between 8-9pm. If she has a late nap (6-7pm), then she goes to bed later. Sleeps through the night and wakes for the day between 7-9.

Eating Habits:

Foods she’s tried:

  • Banana
  • Strawberry
  • Mango
  • Peaches
  • Peas
  • Green Beans
  • Mixed Veggies
  • Sweet Taters
  • Carrots
  • Bread
  • Rice cereal
  • Oatmeal

She most enjoys puffs in addition to her cereal she gets at each meal. She ends up playing with the spoon or the puffs she’s got hoarded in her fists rather than focusing on eating. Meh. She’ll get the hang of it when she’s older. If not, it’ll be a fun sight to see.

Thoughts about the past week:

We worked on establishing a daily routine this week. She took to it like a champ. LOVES being read to. I usually read aloud from Cloud Atlas but often read her books for the pictures.

Daphs and I took some photos together late last week for a contest. Would ya believe it? We won!

Here’s the winner page!
Inspirational parent

Pretty horrid, right?!

The contest was to re-create an already awkward photo. It was sponsored by Imgur and Awkward Family Photos.

Daphs was a champ the entire time. She wasn’t scared of me in my make-up or anything.

Sam was pretty repulsed by it. I promptly took the makeup off after the shots!

Other than that contest, this past week has been relatively slow. We did a lot of reading.

I’ve started walking with Daphs around the house. I put her on the floor and let her figure out how to walk while holding my hands. She’ll get excited and take a few steps and then stop to watch the dogs. She’ll giggle and then keep moving.

We don’t have the TV running during the day. I have classical music playing and we listen that while playing on the floor together.

Sam was gone at weapons training for the past two weeks and wouldn’t come home until around 8pm every night. It got lonely. Now that weapons training is done, he’s back on schedule. I can’t take him for granted. He works so hard for us. He provides for us. I know he loves us so much. I’m so thankful for him.

We also have three new additions to our little family. Instead of just having a family of 9, we have a family of 12. Three humans, two dogs, four chickens, and three fish.

We named the fishes Hitler, Winston Churchill, and Kim Jong Il.

Though I get tired and a little discouraged while training Daphs, overall I love being a mom. She’s my little buddy. I enjoy spending time with her. My priorities have shifted. I treasure time spent playing with her.

We visited Edisto Beach today. Although it was hot and sunny, we still enjoyed it.

Poor thing…Daphs didn’t like the ocean. She was afraid. When we got onto the sand I started walking towards the water. I stopped a good 20 feet from it and she would turn, listen to the waves crash, and then grab me tight and bury her head in my shoulder and chest. She repeated that for 10 minutes. It wasn’t until I sat down in the sand and turned her to face the ocean did she seem to enjoy it.





2 thoughts on “30 Weeks Old (7 months!)

  1. Melanie says:

    I’m so excited that you won the contest! It will be hilarious when Daphs looks at that for the first time when she’s older. Reading what all you do with her everyday is making me feel like a lazy mom! You’re amazing Jenna!

Leave a Reply

