29 Weeks Old

2013-06-06_09-55-12_224

I am 1,391 weeks old. Daphne is 29 weeks old. What a span.

Age:
0 years 6 months 22 days
or 6 months 22 days
or 28 weeks 6 days
or 202 days
or 4848 hours
or 290880 minutes
or 17452800 seconds

Changes in appearance:

She doesn’t look like a baby anymore. Her features are more defined. Her golden red hair is starting to grow over her ears. AHH! Made me wonder if/when I’ll give her the 1st hair cut. I’m tempted to just let it grow…and grow…and grow. I bet my buttons that she’s gonna have curly/wavy hair just like Sam and me. Not really any other *changes* this week. Gummy smiles are in abundance.

Likes:

She loves the dogs. Any dogs. Puppets. She loves watching animals move. She’ll stare and then giggle. She likes bathtime. She enjoys being tossed up in the air (gently, of course). She loves looking in a mirror and in my camera phone.

Dislikes:

She’s still not a huge fan of Ash’s howling. More and more, she’s getting to where she would rather be standing or laying down rather than sitting up.

New Milestones/Developments

She can now roll from front to back AND from back to front. She’ll prop herself up on her arms when she’s on her tummy and sometimes rock forwards and backwards. She’s eating more pureed foods/mashed up foods from our plate than drinking bottles.

What we’re currently “working on:”

Working on her picking up food from her tray with her fingers and putting it to her mouth. She does alright with grabbing things, but she likes to just wave her hand/arm once she’s grabbed it. I’d like to see her grasp things more with her finger and thumb, so we’re fine tuning that.

Working towards crawling as well. I keep her on her belly as much as I can. We stay occupied on the floor with toys and I read to her.

I’m also working on more of a daily routine with her.

Sleeping Habits:

Bedtime shortly after 9pm. She’ll wake around  6 for a bottle. She’ll wake for the day closer to 8am. Naps mid morning, early afternoon, and close to 6/7pm. Cars make her sleepy as well. Her naps seem to get shorter, but she sleeps better for us at night.

Eating Habits:

Foods she’s tried:

  • Banana
  • Strawberry
  • Mango
  • Peaches
  • Peas
  • Green Beans
  • Mixed Veggies
  • Sweet Taters
  • Carrots
  • Bread
  • Rice cereal
  • Oatmeal

The only food she really curled her nose at was a mix of mango and peach. Sam tried it and said it was a smidge bitter in flavor.

When I first gave her a small bit of bread to eat, her expression read “Holy Moly, what’s this??” She kind of gummed it and made “Blaahhhh” noises. The more I gave it to her, the easier it got for her. She enjoyed it and even leans forward to get some.

Thoughts about the past week:

I have NO clue what bug jumped up in my pants, but I’ve been on a mission to get organized. I researched more into homeschooling.

When I was young, my mom used to read to my sister and me from a family bible study/devotional book. I remember we’d go up to her room and all sit on the bed and I enjoyed every minute of it. I had been wanting to find a similar devotional book to read to Daphs throughout the day. Sam and I headed to our local Books-A-Million yesterday to find one.

I picked out a couple.

IMG_20130610_101237_766IMG_20130610_101254_882

The ‘read with me bible’ is great for the illustrations. I’m a bit disappointed in the simplicity of the stories. I mean, yea, it’s for small children, but the stories are SO watered down. I found myself getting more frustrated while reading it than not. If anything, the book will be a great stepping stone and I’ll fill in the stories with my own words as time goes on. There’s a lot to fill in. The other devotional is a supplemental reader to daily passages in the bible. I have been doing it for 2 days. I remember now why I don’t like those type of devotionals: I’m limited to reading just one chapter or one passage a day. I often want to read more but don’t want to skip ahead. Oh, the problems of craving to read the bible. 🙂

What else is going on… The house is in order. We’re back to a new normal after our dear friends moved to a new home. I’ve got an awesome little setup with my workout mat covered in quilts and toys/pillows all around it. We sit on the floor together and play, talk, sing, and wiggle. Works out nicely for us.

I did a bit of recording this week. I don’t record music as often as I want to and often find other things with which to fill my time.

Check this one out! It’s “Go to Sleep you Little Baby” (from O Brother, Where Art Thou?)

Check this one out too! It’s “Jolene” (Thank you, Ms. Parton)

Plans for this week:

  • Paint pictures for a friend
  • Work on verbal skills with Doodles
  • Work on fine motor skills with Doodles
  • Finish coffee-table art
  • Take pro-status pictures of Daphs
  • Continue to daily read the bible and read from it to Doodles
  • Daily workout
Leave a Reply

