Flour Dough Keepsakes and Piano Lessons.

Isn’t it just the sweetest thing when the one you love brings you home flowers?

Sam has brought flowers to me on many occasions: When I’m sick, when we are mending an argument, or various holidays.

Flowers are a simple way to brighten a home and your mood.

Most recently, Sam brought home flours.

Flours.

At first, I rejoiced at the prospect of baking loaves upon loaves of fresh bread. I relished the idea of baking nonstop for a day, covering myself in the white flour dust. I contemplated attempting a world record for the tallest cake ever created, as I’d have enough flour to make it work. Heck, I even imagined running out in the rain to get soaked and having someone throw a whole sack of flour on me just so I could run around the house screaming “I’m a GHOST!” Oh, the wonderful things I could do with 50 pounds of flour.

Not really. Well, maybe all but the baking of the bread.

I found out that the flour had been used in some training exercises and had been outside for long periods of time. Bummer. I wouldn’t be able to use it for my loaves upon loaves of fresh bread or the tallest cake ever created. I’d have to use a sheet next time if I wanted to be a ghost.

A click or two on Pinterest led me to Flour Salt Dough keepsakes. PERFECT. I had flour. Lots of it. I had salt. Time to make memories, yo.

The recipes for the flour dough are all basically the same: Flour, Salt, and Water mixed together to form a play-doh like consistency. Bake at 200F for 2-3 hrs.

Shamelessly adding yet another flour dough recipe to the internet…here I go.

Flour Dough Keepsakes

2 cups flour

1 cup salt

about 1 cup warmish water

You can be all sorts of homesteadish and knead all the ingredients by hand for about 7-10 minutes…or… do as I did and get lazy. I mixed all the ingredients in the Kitchen Aid mixer. I did this so the dough would be more consistent in texture and so that it wouldn’t be lumpy. Nothing worse than a lumpy handprint keepsake, I always say.

Roll it out.

Imprint whatever you want…your child’s hand, your dog’s paw, your dog’s nose (Yep, tried that).

Bake at 200f for 2-3 hours. The thicker your dough, the longer it’ll need in the oven.

You will want to coat the finished cooled keepsake with clear protecting paint. Before you do, however, now would be the time to paint it or otherwise decorate it. I think leaving them bare adds to the appeal.

 

 

So there you have it. Flour Dough Keepsakes. Easy peasy.

After Daphs woke from her nap, we worked on the piano a bit. She had a little more attention span this time around than usual.

The progression of Daphne’s lesson was as follows: Practice with enthusiasm, Get bored. Get tired. Get grumpy. Eat the keyboard. I don’t know about you, but that’s EXACTLY how my daily piano practice goes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Flour Dough Keepsakes and Piano Lessons.

Leave a Reply

