Scales lie.

Scales lie.

I’m not a fan of scales. Never have been.

Even though I despise scales, I cannot seem to escape them.

We’ve consistently had weight checks for Daphne since late January; once each week.

I’ve been seeing ‘Doctor Doom’ as I lovingly call her and have not been impressed with her skills as doctor. Thus, I welcomed this week’s weight check with open arms as we would be seeing another doctor in the clinic.

We arrived at the clinic and had to wait a bit of time to be called back. I was in the middle of feeding Daphs when we were called. What’s a gal to do in the middle of a nursing session? Get up and walk back there baby-on-boob. Feeding Daphs through a bottle may have come in handy at that one moment in my life, but nevertheless, a gal’s gotta do what a gal’s gotta do.

First, we weighed her. She weighed in at just under 5 kg (10lbs 15 ounces). Her head circumference and length grew a little from the past week’s check. 

She gained a pound and 2 ounces in 8 days.

…Hm.

Methinks something be wrong with the scale at the clinic.

H0w is it that a baby can lose 11 ounces in a week and then gain 18 ounces? If this is possible, I’ll be darned. I’ve never heard of it happening.

However, I have heard of scales being unbalanced and inconsistent.

Either way, she was back up in her weight and tracking along quite well.

What did I do different this past week to help her gain weight?

  • Fed her more often
  • Used the SNS almost daily
  • Incorporated formula into her diet (2-4 ounces when I used it)
  • Started taking ‘Mother’s Milk tea
  • Ate something every hour to keep my metabolism rolling
  • Quit eating my dairy products in the hopes that it would trigger more production or a different absorption of nutrition by Daphs

I continued

  • using fenugreek
  • drinking Atlantic Ocean sized bottles of water daily
  • feeding her through the night

After explaining all those things to the new doctor (Captain Conner), she assured us that Daphs is doing good.

She told us (as we already knew) that Daphs is just a tiny baby. She doesn’t expect her to jump up to the high percentiles, but to continue on her own growth pattern.

Sam asked her a few direct questions to ease our minds:, and her responses are paraphrased as follows:

  • Do we need to quit breastfeeding and move to formula to give Daphs more calories? “No, continue breastfeeding. There is no need to quit breastfeeding, but try to breastfeed absolutely as often as you can. Also incorporate the SNS with formula every day to give those extra boosts of calories.”
  • Is Daphne healthy? “Yes. She’s just small.”
  • Do we need to be concerned that she’s in the 4th percentile? “No. She’s just a tiny baby. Also, the charts we go by here at the clinic aren’t specifically designed for breastfed babies. These charts are directed more towards formula-fed babies.”
  • Is there anything specific we can do to keep her healthy? “Keep breastfeeding her and offer her the formula through the SNS.”
  • Does she need more weight? “Not necessarily. As long as she’s tracking in her own growth curve and her milestones are being hit, she is just fine.

She did mention that the only thing she’d like to keep a close eye on is the head circumference measurements. That seemed to be the only potential issue that may need to be watched.

All in all, the visit was really great. Captain Conner was very positive and sure of herself. She gave us strong answers and reassured us that Daphne is doing great. She was very happy to see that Daphne is growing from the past few appointments. Her demeanor was very relaxed and she was confident. She relayed a story to us about her own breastfeeding issues where she didn’t produce enough. She even said “I know sometimes a gal just doesn’t produce enough milk! You can only do what you can do!”

We do like Captain Conner much more than Doctor Doom and are looking into switching to her as our primary doctor for Daphne. After all, we need someone who is on our side and is sympathetic.

So, we scheduled another weight check in a week.

This appointment took place on Thursday. Since then, I’ve been feeling a little more relaxed because we left the clinic with a plan for feeding Daphs.

Things seem to be getting a bit better. I know I have been so stressed and frustrated with my experience in breastfeeding and getting it figured out.

Daphs has been doing so well nursing! My heart melts when she is done and looks up at me. A slow smile creeps on her face and I make silly noises at her. She buries her head in her chest and then peeps up at me for more silliness. She kicks her legs when she is nearing the end of her meal. She reaches her arm up and holds my heart or my hair (I prefer the former). Truly, breastfeeding is a beautiful moment between mother and child. I never fully understood that sentiment until experiencing it myself.

What a bittersweet thing to have to let go of these little moments. New moments will replace them as time goes on and I am sure I will fall in love with her even more, if that is possible.

One thought on “Scales lie.

Leave a Reply

