16 weeks old

Age:
0 years 3 months 21 days
or 3 months 21 days
or 16 weeks 0 days
or 112 days
or 2688 hours
or 161280 minutes
or 9676800 seconds

(thanks to calculator.net)

Changes in Appearance:

I am within such close range of her daily that it is hard to notice a lot of small changes! However, when Sam watches her for me while I workout of finish housework, I notice the changes.

Her face is growing rounder and getting longer.
She still has her monkey toes and chubby little thighs! She just seems to be filling out better!

Still has those baby blues. Not much hair growth. No teeth.

Likes:

Being faced outwards

Looking at herself in the mirror. 

Sam’s voice and weird noises.

Being whispered to

She still likes being swaddled a night.

Loves her paci.

Fart noises, the “ZZZ” sound as in Zipper or in me singing “Zippity Do Dah”

Looking out the front door at the rain and at cars passing by

Being around people and being held close

Sitting with me at the piano and listening to me sing and play

Chewing on her hands

Being bounced on the stability ball

Bathtime and warm water.

Watching Pax and Ash play.

Bicycle legs.

Whistling noises (Sam has to do those…I can’t whistle)

Dislikes:

She doesn’t like being stationary too long.

Being set down when she doesn’t want to be (she prefers to be in our arms or in our laps)

Laying on her back when she doesn’t want to be, even for diaper changes

Being parted from her pacifier

Air being blown in her face

Tummy time for more than a few minutes

New Milestones/Developments

She is grasping toys better, grabbing with her forefinger and thumb.

She smiles socially to strangers who talk to her.

She rolled over a few times this week–nothing official, but just kinda plopped over.

Worries with Milestones/Developments:

None right now. I think I am at ease with her small frame and her own growth curve (Even in the 7th percentile!) She is healthy and happy!

Sleeping Habits:

Bedtime at 8/8:30

Feeding at 12am

Feeding at 5am

Wake up for the day at 7:30am.

Sleeping in her crib! We have to swaddle her tight lest she wriggles free and the blankets are splayed out all over the crib. Sometimes we use a vibrating pack and play attachment to get a little movement in the crib, but mostly she falls asleep on her own.

Eating Habits:

Still breastfeeding. No introduction of any other foods or cereals. Since removing the paci, she eats a little more often. She has started to spit up just a few times during the day. Perhaps due to getting too full of a belly? It seems to correlate with longer feedings.

Thoughts about the past week:

What  a week. We had our two friends and their two dogs move in with us. Now that we are all settled, we are getting into a routine. I am so thankful Sam has been willing to watch Daphs while I workout and clean house a bit.

I am so relieved that my breastfeeding issues seem to have gotten better. I am much more relaxed and confident in my feedings.

Daphne is just such a joy. I am so happy to have her in my life! Sam and I both marvel at her beauty and her smiles. She is quick to smile and just adores being held. I think, however, I need to make sure she is comfortable playing on her own as to not encourage separation anxiety.

I often think about the future and her birthdays. I am so excited to celebrate her life! Family pictures will always be fun.

Daphne’s next doctor appointment is for her 4 month checkup in one week.

5 thoughts on “16 weeks old

  1. SnipzNSnailz says:

    It’s so fun to read your posts because my son is five months but it goes by so fast that I’m already looking back and remembering when he was so tiny. Now he’s starting to move and I’m so excited but at the same time it’s kind of a little sad.

    You seem like such a great mother. So loving and attentive. I wish you the best.

    I posted all my updates and milestones to Facebook at first because with Timeline it’s so easy to look back on them and then record them later in the baby book. I love how you are recording all those “little” things like this. At times it’s great to have this technology so these memories can be recorded so much better than in the past.

    1. laecen says:

      Thank you so much! I love keeping track of all of her little milestones! I already cannot believe she is nearly 4 months old…Where did time go?!

      I really appreciate your kind words! I just love spending time with her and growing with her.

      I know that if I don’t keep track of all of these things now, I won’t go back to record them later! With the technology we have, it is so convenient to keep these memories intact! Thank you!

      Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

