Amazing what a bit of make-up can do.

I am amazed at what a little bit of make-up can do for a person.

Last night, I went on a date with a wonderful friend of mine, Samantha. She helped me pick out a new pair of running shoes, we walked through a cosmetics store, and then we had delicious Mexican food. You know, the good kind: The kind that has a semblance of spice and flavor.

Afterwards, she mentioned that she she wouldn’t mind stopping in at Sephora to find what she was looking for.

Oooh… Sephora.

A glorious magical place where a dollar buys you a minute of their time.

A safe haven for mascaraholics and liner lushes.

The cornerstone of exquisitely expensive make-up and body care products.

And I absolutely adored it.

The Sephora store was relatively tiny but packed with shimmering glittery items. Polish sparkled under the spotlights and hundreds of powder foundation packets were opened, ready for testing.

Bottles of illumination gels stood row by row alongside pencils and multicolored eye shadows.

I felt that I couldn’t drink it all in even if I took a thousand gulps.

I tested out a few powders and gleaned advice from Samantha’s recommendations.

Believe me when I say that I was very careful handling those $40 dollar bottles of foundation…I was scared I would drop something. I felt like a bull in a china closet with my stroller pushing through the small aisles.  I would love another opportunity to shop at Sephora and get all done-up by one of the ladies there. I’d really enjoy a chance to see some different colors on myself and try out some new products I may never even have heard of.

After about 20 minutes, I made my selections: A fresh Powder foundation from Benefit and an under eye concealer.

I left feeling so refreshed and rejuvenated, eager to try on my new make-up with my stash.

I got home and used eye make-up remover for the first time in years. I fully cleansed my face and moisturized and headed to bed, eager to wake up the following morning to try out my make-up.

Yes. Really. I get that excited.

I must say that I absolutely love the under-eye concealer. I have SUCH dark circles under my eyes and this thing fully covers them. I felt like a monkey handling a teacup, however. I had no idea how to get the concealer to flow to the tip and spent 6 minutes (Yes. 6 minutes) fiddling around with it making monkey sounds. I finally got it to work and it’s just so amazing.

The powder is phenomenal as well. It is so lightweight and smooth. Heaven.

After I got my powder on and my big ol’ under eye bags concealed, I said to myself “Dang. Why not put in my contacts and try out some of my eye shadows that have been lying dormant in my make-up bag.

I did my best at making a smoky eye with creams and browns– to make my eyes pop. I lined my lids and fanned my eyelashes with pitch black mascara.

I felt like a queen.

It’s amazing what a little bit of make-up will do for you.

I held my head up high and was in a cheery mood today. I think I could get used to this whole make-up thing.

In Daphne related news…

Daphne seems to be taking to the SNS system very well.

I use the system every other feeding. Daphne does very well with it. I usually pump enough after she goes to bed to last me throughout the day. I am able to pump a lot more than usual, so I believe my supply is exactly where it should be.

I am so happy that I found something to help her eat better and consume more milk. I can tell Daphs is gaining weight. Her little thighs aren’t so little anymore (poor child…food goes straight to the thighs for her).

Today was a good day, full of smiles.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Amazing what a bit of make-up can do.

Leave a Reply

