Washing out potty mouths.

Ah yes. The weekend is drawing to a close. The last hurrahs are had before getting back in line on Monday morning bright and early.

This weekend has been quite short. Sam and I had returned home Friday evening and we both have felt as if the weekend just wasn’t long enough to recuperate.

I made juicing packs to keep in the fridge for easy access. I took the time today to separate out my veggies and fruits into large tupperware containers so that if I want to make juice, I need only grab a tupperware and everything is ready to go.

Image

Yum. In these containers are carrots, cucumber, parsley, brussel sprouts, asparagus, peppers, tomatoes, apples, and I left out the pineapple and orange to be added on the spot.

Assembling those is sure to remove some of the stress of having to gather all the ingredients and prepare them.

Prior to assembling my juice boxes, I had gone on a walk with Daphs. We walked around the back yard again. I stuffed an extra blanket around her head to help brace it a bit from the wibbly wobbly ride across the terrain. Sam burned trash while Daphs and I did laps. It sure felt great to be outside in the cool fresh air!

I had stopped between laps to talk to Sam and Daphs wasn’t too pleased to have woken from her nap to find herself strapped in a carseat outside.

ImageI guess she didn’t want to be outside. Image

We finally calmed her down.

ImageHer eyelids started getting really heavy.

Image

And so while she was relaxing, Sam and I chit chatted. I looked down to see her scowling and Sam stepped in for a photo op.

ImageImage

There is no denying that Daphne is our baby.

My little love has been extra fussy today. She has been a little more vocal today, crying more than usual. She is still getting over her sickness and I imagine she is still trying to settle from the excitement of being back in Kansas for so long.

Daphne spent most of the day in my arms.

While toting her around, I would point things out to her and explain things to her. Even now, when she toots or when we can tell she is filling her diaper, I say “Good potty!” in an effort to help her make the connection between her actions and the words. I don’t think 2.5 months is too young to start potty training.

Being back in Kansas was an eye opening experience for me. I am responsible for Daphne’s growth and development. I am responsible to teach her what I know and to help her grow.

Knowing that Sam and I will be her only source of social encounters for quite some time, I wonder what kind of impact I am having on my daughter.

As I have mentioned before, I felt myself slipping into a negative mindset and outlook. While at home, I made a strong effort to be positive and to let go of negativity. In doing so, I came in contact with so much more negativity than I previously had. Perhaps that’s not fair to say. Perhaps it would be better for me to say that I noticed the negativity seeping from other people’s  actions and words because I had taken a step back from the negative perspective.

I noticed just how much I had developed a habit of talking about other people. I wouldn’t call it gossip, but I would peg it as a running commentary of other people’s behavior and actions. When set in a negative light, that type of behavior and thinking is closely related to scorn.

Scorn, as defined by Merriam Webster, is ‘open dislike and disrespect…’

From Thesaurus.com, Synonyms of scorn are as follows:

Jeering

Ridicule

Sarcasm

Mockery

Disregard

Disdain

Teasing

Taunting

Sneer

Scorn is also related to the words belittle, bad-mouth, smear, and criticize.

Hm. I can relate to a lot of those descriptions. Can you?

“Geez! That person cut in front of me on the road. What a jerk! I could have gotten in a wreck! He must be an idiot.”

“Wow, that lady shouldn’t have talked to me like that. Does she know who I am? Does she realize she’s behaving like a child?”

So many scenarios run through my head of instances where a person takes an ordinary situation and twists it. Scorn is closely related to judgement and hypocrisy.

When I made an active decision to step back to guard my thoughts and my words, it was then that I noticed just how corrupt I had become in my thought patterns.

How can I mend a scornful attitude?


-Put yourself in another person’s shoes
-Get all the information
-Refuse to judge a person.
-Refuse to pass on information that could be misconstrued or taken the wrong way
-Be thankful
-Drop the chip on my shoulder
-Absolutely refuse to talk negatively about another person or even think bad things–Give the benefit of the doubt.
-Take no part in gossip or bad talk about people.

I think the moral of the story here is not to comment on matters about which I know nothing.
A person who has a scornful attitude often is judgmental and can often be a hypocrite as well. To see a person who is kind and gentle to a specific person only to sneer and tear down that person when his or her back is turned is a hypocrite.

It is hard to present information objectively without seeming to be a gossip.

It is tough to give your opinion on other people’s behavior without seeming judgmental.

I can honestly say that since I have become a mom, my perspective has changed and I have gained a lot more respect and empathy for struggling mothers I have encountered.

On the plane ride home from Kansas, Daphne screamed while we were waiting for take-off and then through ascension. I don’t mean that cute little half scream that signals a tired baby. I’m talkin’ about the scream that makes the parent blush and shoosh the baby as much as she can.

No matter how much Sam or I tried to console her, she wanted no part in it. She cried and cried. I became flustered and upset. I had fed her. She was changed. It must have been the pressure and her little ears. There was nothing I could do but keep trying to console her, sing to her, and try to calm her down. I must say that it was a very humbling experience.

In that situation, a person might have thought “Geez…shut that baby up!” “Why is that baby crying? Feed it…do something with it.” Though no one spoke those words to me, those thoughts immediately came into my head, causing me to blush and become frantic to take care of Daphs. I didn’t want to be THAT mother on the plane with a crying baby, but it happened anyway.

When you aren’t directly in the situation, it is easy to say that you would do things a different way—the right way. It’s not fair to say that.As I continue to age, I don’t see things in black and white. I realize that sometimes people are just trying to make it to tomorrow. I think that knowing that makes me want to be a more kind and loving person to the people around me. As it’s been said, you never know what the other person is going through.

Our thoughts create our actions. The condition of our heart dictates our path.

What do you think about? What do you talk about most?

One of my favorite verses is from Philippians 4, verse 8.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

I had memorized this verse many years ago and continue to recite it to myself when I feel negativity or a bad thought process coming on.

To tie this in with my original intent of this post, I make the following observation:

My daughter learns from example. If I am thankful, she is thankful. If I am negative, she is negative. My attitude on the world around me and the people in it will be apparent to Daphne as she ages. She will hear how I interact with strangers. She will listen as I talk to her dad about a problem I am having. She will hear my words, good or bad.

To raise a thankful child, I must be thankful.
To raise a positive child, I must be positive.

What a sobering thing it is to raise a child. Much attention is needed as my young one grows and forms opinions on life!

 

Leave a Reply

