The Gross Nasty, Foul-Smelling Drink

I hate taking vitamins. I just hate it. The smell that wafts up from the plastic baby-proof bottle. I push and turn that plastic top, hearing the rattling capsules of foul smelling crushed up herbs and mineral mixes. I wince. I shake the bottle out into my hand until two green brown pills land in my palm. They thud into my hand and I stretch out my hand away from nose and turn my head in disdain. Woe. Agony. The foul odor of the mineral mix makes me gag. The nasty stench emitting from the vitamin bottle is enough to deter anyone away from unhealthy foods. Anything to avoid taking those herbal concoctions of grossness.

After Daphne’s appointment, Sam and I picked up her vitamin drops.

Image

 

In all the green gooey glory.

Image

The first time I opened this to give it to Daphs, I smelled it and threw my head back in disgust. I then (of course) had to try it. Holy moly. Worse than the temporary taste of the vitamin-y grossness.

Image

The first time I prepared to give it to Daphs, I was nervous. I assumed she would spit it up. I laid her on my lap and looked down at her innocent face. Her big blue eyes just stared up at me as to say “You love me. You wouldn’t do a thing to make me upset.”

So, I filled the dropper with the green goo and placed it at her mouth. She started licking and swallowing the drops. My face wrinkled up as to prepare myself for the potential spit up and crying that would most definitely ensue.

It most definitely didn’t ensue!

She took the dropper of the gross nasty, foul-smelling drink and didn’t squirm or flinch at all. What a champ.

My daughter rocks. She’s stronger than I.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, here are videos and pictures! YAY for smiling baby!

Us being goofs!

Image

Curious!

Image

More of the curious face!

Image

Bright blues!

Image

Goofs!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sleeeeeeepy baby. I love it when her eyes get all droopy.

Image

Almost out…

Image

For reasons unknown to me, my daughter loves to pull the blankets up over her face. Kinda freaks me out, but somehow she always leaves a space for her nose to get some air.

Image

Image

First time playing with a light up musical toy!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Not so sure about it…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And there we have it, folks. The amazing baby who drinks gross vitamin drops without flinching.

The more time I spend with Daphs, the more I love her.
We played with the musical toy, I showed her the rattle and encouraged her to reach out and grab it, and she stared mesmerized into the mirror for minutes on end. She is like a little sponge. She absorbs everything going on around her. I make it a point to talk to her and tell her what I’m doing, showing her as I go. Lead by example and learn by observation!

In non-baby news, Tomorrow should be the day that the semi-finalists are announced for my deviantArt contest! I’ve got my fingers crossed along with every other body part that can possibly be crossed (except for my eyes…I get a headache after a few seconds).

I’m eager to finish a few of my art pieces so I can start new ones. I may try my hand at frilly loopy writing and embellishments to encourage sale-worthy items for my future website/etsy store. I’ve gotta build up a portfolio first!

Have a glorious day, friend!

Leave a Reply

