Rant.

The Good:

Well, announced the baby on facebook! I received so much support and was so happy to tell everyone. We were bursting at the seams! 

I am so thankful for all the friends and family who offered well wishes and kind words. THANK you, dear friends. Your positive reactions were a breath of fresh air.

The Bad:

Went to school. Forgot my wallet. Couldn’t meet a dear friend at the grocery store. 

The Ugly:

At 12:30 this morning, I posted a list of our potential baby names onto forums on a baby site I visit:

D’Artagnan Dagonet

Killian Fane

Ezekiel Rage

Lucius Cale

Aurelius Fox 

 

In only 21 hour time, my forum post has received 1,071 views and 58 responses. Cool, right?! Wrong. The responses consist of negativity and hate. The overwhelming majority consist of HATE and confusion towards those names. They respond with things like “Do you want your child to hate you?” and “That sounds pretentious and that you are making up drama” and “This is ridiculous, are you serious?” 

At first, it made me really upset. Then I realized something: It is easier to be negative than positive. It is also easy to be mean to a stranger when you’ve got the protection of a computer screen.

Then, I realized right then and there what I had to do: I had to be nothing but a positive person on forums and reevaluate my actions and words. I thanked the ladies kindly for responding and giving input. 

It is sad that the women on these forums are cruel, mean, and hateful to a stranger seeking honest advice and information. It makes me really upset that negativity is so much easier than being positive. 

 

For the love of Pete, don’t be a negative nancy. Be kind, even to strangers. ESPECIALLY to strangers.

 

Today marks the beginning of week 5. I’ll update a few baby things and then the full update at the end of the week.

Symptoms: A little more cramping today, feeling a mild pinching and throbbing. I think of it as the baby’s heartbeat (I know it’s not!) rather than cramps so I stay positive.

I have been seriously moody still. Perhaps it is me processing the news or maybe hormones. Either way, it’s gotta get under control or there’s gonna be one big moody mama bear in the house…

Other tidbits: I have been pretty worked up about a miscarriage–thinking sex will cause it, mild jogging or crossing my legs funny will. It’s all from ignorance, but to reassure myself, I researched statistics on miscarriages (by the time it took me to write all that, views on my forum post jumped to 1083). Baby has a 70% of miscarrying within the first 2 weeks (you don’t even know it), after that, between 3-6 weeks, chances drop down to 10%. after you hear a heartbeat, it drops again to 5% or lower. This encouraged me and helped lift my spirits. 

 

I realized how devastated I would be if I would miscarry. I am getting so excited to go through my pregnancy to full term and meet little one. 

 

Sam is excited too! (He may not look it in this picture, but he is!)

 

Image

 

 

Only a week and a few days til our first doctor’s appointment! 

Have a great week and don’t forget to be positive!

-Jenna

 

 

 

 

http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/miscarriage.html

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rant.

  1. Claire says:

    Congrats again!! 🙂 I’m a little jealous but not too much. Haha Ian an I are not ready for kids just yet. I just can’t wait to be pregnant;)

    Those names are a bit unique but I love D’Artagnan. Ezekiel is in the bible. It’s the odd spelling of any name that’s tough (“normal” name or not!)…like Jennyfer or something.

    Anyway, it’s your child and no matter what, everyone will soon love him/her too! 🙂

    1. laecen says:

      Thank you Claire! Sam and I went through five and half years of marriage before we even seriously considered having kids. I wouldn’t trade that time in for anything. This seems to be the right step and we’re excited! And with names–yea, people will be people and hate it or love it! IT’ll be so darn tootin’ cute, the name won’t matter! HA!

  2. Karen pitts says:

    I like the name Killian just don’t stick with “negative nancy”. She would get teased too much. Love you even though we haven’t met in person!

    1. laecen says:

      Thanks Karen! Yea, Negative Nancy is TOTALLY our second choice for a girls name lol! Just think of the flak I’d catch for that one! I’m glad to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

